Battlefield 1: Going Back to the Past?

Watching the new Battlefield 1 release trailer got me wondering. Can DICE successfully create shooter in the lethargic setting of World War 1?

Recently most first-person shooters have been confining themselves in a boring box of equally dull cliches. Deserts in foreign countries or the exhaustively overused setting of World War 2. DICE has decided to break out of that box with Battlefield 1, and head back to the First World War.

While I’m not a huge fan of shooters that try to get a realistic feel of warfare, I can understand the appeal of the fast paced gun spraying action they possess. So after hearing the rumours that the next Battlefield game was taking place in World War 1 I was dumbfounded. Why would DICE would choose such a boring setting for a shooter? Not to undermine the atrocities of it, but it is the slowest, most drawn out war.

Most of World War 1’s battles were fought in trench warfare. Which, if you didn’t know, is where two sides had their soldiers dig up holes, fire guns at the enemy hole, sit around, throw mustard gas at another hole, sit around some more, try not to get shot by planes in the hole and repeat that step-by-step process for 4 years. I couldn’t think of a more old, mundane place to put a shooter with our modern day short attention span.

That being said, the reveal trailer for Battlefield 1 released on May 6th and it does a commendable job at portraying such a stale surrounding into an action-filled oddly colourful game. It changed a lot of my preconceived notions about the game’s choice of setting and made me want to give the game a fair chance.

Battlefield 1 is scheduled to release on October 21, 2016.I’ll be following it and updating more news like this right here, so stay tuned!

Author: Funké

Hey, I'm Funké Joseph. I'm always writing about video games and pop-culture.