Super Hero Ogre Review

I stumbled across an old game and decided to replay and review it.

Just to give a bit of context as to why I’m reviewing such an obscure game. I was rummaging through my room, and I stumbled across this 2010 classic, G.G. Series: Super Hero Ogre. 

It’s an action side-scrolling brawler published by Genterprise for 200 points on the Nintendo DSi Shop. I remember downloading this game and having a really good time, but never being able to finish it, so today I decided to restart the game and have a little fun.

When I booted up the game, I was greeted by a chipper symphony of tunes and a vibrantly coloured screen which both immediately help create the reminiscent feeling of playing a classic beat ’em up.While the game succeeds at mimicking the general tone of the genre, the facade quickly began to fade before I even completed level one.

The first fault of the game that I noticed instantly is that Super Hero Ogre doesn’t have a story. I understand that it’s an indie game, but it felt like they just thought of the idea for this game, programmed the character models and gave up. There’s only one game mode, and the highscore you get in that is basically irrelevant because there isn’t an online options to show your friends. Your combo counter doesn’t even matter, because they even when the game got challenging I found myself with a +100 combo because the game was way too generous with the time between attacks that qualifies a combo. At the beginning of it, I was thrust into this world I knew nothing about and the game couldn’t care less. It also didn’t care if I knew how to play. It expects the player to either run into the game blind and constantly hold onto the fleeting hope that some of the random inputs you’re slamming will keep you from dying, or it wanted you to sit on the help screen memorizing all of your moves and combos for hours until you could recite them seamlessly without batting an eye. I don’t know about you, but I’m not the kind of person who wants to put that much mental effort into a game that costs less than $2. I want to believe that Genterprise genuinely wanted to create a complex, challenging game for a cheap price, but If that was the situation, they were too ambitious with such a small budget.

Super Hero Ogre feels much like a punch in the face after passing the boring A.I. first level. This game probably has the most abrupt learning curve I’ve ever experienced. (Once you die, you go back to the beginning, no matter what point you’re at. It’s like using the Iron skull form Halo 3, but not having the option to turn it off. This issue didn’t affect me earlier on, but it did become a big problem later.) After being conditioned to enemies that could be easily replaced with a child’s imaginary friend, I was bombarded by a plethora of new enemies that were doing jump kicks, plasma uppercuts, and quite frankly, kicking my ass. This is the point where the game loses it’s status as a video game and turns into a weird memorization quiz that your middle school math tutor would give you. I’m not kidding when I say I played this game for month trying to crack the patterns. Every morning on the subway I would be ducking Green foe #1’s dragon kick while simultaneously remembering to counterattack Purple foe #6’s flying punch, all in a sad effort to beat this twisted childhood game. I didn’t even mention that the soundtrack I spoke about earlier doesn’t change at all throughout the game. It’s one song that is constantly on repeat. It felt like being trapped in an elevator for days on end and only being able to listen to Bonnie Tyler’s Total Eclipse of the Heart.

When I was done meticulously figuring out every inner mechanism of each level, and locating the Achilles heel of each seemingly indestructible boss I made it to the final level. I wasn’t sure what I expected to see after the months of partaking in the Sisyphean task of trying to make my way to the end of the game, but it sure as hell wasn’t this. I had to consecutively defeat every single boss I’ve ever encountered, which all led up to the final antagonist. An enemy with a fluorescent lightsaber that resembled Darth Vader with a lightsaber. This overpowered individual proceeded to shoot beams out of his weapon that destroyed my character in two hits. I was livid. Furious, heated that all of my hard work and mentally taxing memorization went down the drain due to this digital bootleg Kylo Ren. I eventually defeated him, and it was completely unsatisfactory. There was no victory screen or music, I was just sent to a near replica of level one with a different backdrop.

Genterprise created a game that was not fun. I haven’t had such a negative experience playing a video game than when I played Super Hero Ogre. Aside from the initial nostalgic joy it gave, the game was a hollow experience that forced me to grind it’s boring components into my head before I even could have a chance of beating it. Super Hero Ogre is a horrible game, and if you ever find this on anybody’s DSi, please delete it. You’d be doing them the biggest favor of their lives. I hesitate to give it such a bad score, but that is honestly what this game deserves. I’m gonna think twice before replaying gaming “gems” of my past now.

2/10 Horrible

(Article featured on Total Nabs)

Author: Funké

Hey, I'm Funké Joseph. I'm always writing about video games and pop-culture.

Leave a Reply

