Why I Love Super Smash Bros. Melee

Masahiro Sakurai’s Super Smash Bros. Melee is easily my favourite game of all time. Just the concept of the game brings me joy, having all of my favourite Nintendo heroes in one game dueling it out? Sign me up! Being able to use Pikachu, a character I’ve played with since I was a little kid, to defeat the infamous Bowser is one of the most invigorating feelings I’ve ever experienced while playing a video game. Being the second installation in the series, it was able to fix many of the things that I didn’t enjoy about Super Smash Bros 64. Melee just felt way more fluent. The pace sped up, the game looked way more appealing, and mechanics were changed to introduce a more diverse way of playing. The amount of playable characters doubled, and the number of stages almost tripled from it’s predecessor. I’ve spent many nights staying up late and getting into heated battles with my friends due to the sheer volume of choice the game provides. During one of these sessions, a friend told me there was a competitive scene for Melee and offered to take me to a tournament. I couldn’t believe what I saw, a community of like-minded people all joined together having fun because of a video game. I’ve met some of my best friends by regularly attending these small meetups and watched people make spectacular plays. This inspired me and initially made me want to pursue a life as a professional gamer, but after failing numerous times I realized I’d be a better fit writing about games. Super Smash Bros Melee has given a lot to me and with it’s revolutionary fight system and inspiring soundtrack, this classic Nintendo game will always have a special place in my heart.

 

Author: Funké

Hey, I'm Funké Joseph. I'm always writing about video games and pop-culture.