Indivisible Preview

Yesterday I downloaded the beta for Lab Zero Games’ newest project, Indivisible and I think it has the potential to be a fantastic game.

I didn’t hear anything about this game until I stumbled upon the trailer while I was looking up a guide on how to play Skullgirls (Another game developed by Lab Zero Games). The trailer does a good job of showcasing the beauty, mechanics, and the gist of what it has to offer.

Indivisible is an action-rpg that follows the story of a young girl named Ajna and her quest of figuring out the origin of her mysterious powers. Throughout this journey she recruits different heroes which each have their own unique powers to contribute to the party’s arsenal. Lab Zero has also announced they will be adding cross-over heroes including stars from Shovelknight, Shantae, and Guacamelee.

The art style of Indivisible is simply amazing. From the moment the title screen popped up I was absorbed by the captivating colours and the alterations made to the depth of field that helped create a more spacious environment. The calming music composed by Hiroki Kikuta (Secret of Mana) set the mood for the light-hearted adventure I was about to experience.

Lab Zero games has stated that “Indivisible is inspired by classics like Valkyrie Profile and Super Metroid, but with the unique character, world, and gameplay depth Lab Zero is known for.” You can really see the influence that both of the games had on the development of Indivisible. Exploring the world that Ajna inhabits reminded me of travelling in the dark caves as Samus, but the quirky character design that they brought from Skullgirls gives you a more joyous feel than the eerie tones of Metroid. The combat system is like Valkyrie Profile’s, but with a modern twist. Each character is assigned to a button which you press to either attack or defend, but instead of being turn-based, you have cooldowns on attacking or using the hero’s special ability.

gsl1ywhwxmue8wlgk9re

The beta starts off with Ajna searching for her pet that has wandered off, but the innocent task of retrieval goes wrong when she finds out monsters have invaded her village. You’re thrown into action almost instantly and you have to adapt to the unconventional fighting style very quickly. Even though you’re provided with helpful tips, it still took me a little while to get used to the controls. Once I was familiar with how to play the game it was a breeze to get through. Every enemy was fairly easy to beat and I didn’t have to put much thought into my attacks, it got very repetitive nearing the end of the game. The only time I felt a challenge was facing the final boss, a Sphinx-like creature that tested my strength and forced me to come up with a decent strategy to defeat it. Only through combining the brute strength, range, and healing powers of my different heroes I was able to complete the game, and rescue my pet.

Indivisible shows a lot of potential with it’s noteworthy combat structure, extraordinary art, and tranquil (yet exciting) soundtrack. I did get somewhat bored when I got deep into the game, due to lack of formidable enemies. With some work on creating a better difficulty curve and varying gameplay I think Indivisible could be one of the best indie games out there.

indivisible

If you are interested in finding out more about Indivisible, be sure to check out the links below.

http://www.indivisiblegame.com/

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/indivisible-rpg-from-the-creators-of-skullgirls#/

 

 

Author: Funké

Hey, I'm Funké Joseph. I'm always writing about video games and pop-culture.